Convention 2012 a success

Monday, October 22, 2012

For Immediate Release
October 22, 2012

NL NDP Convention 2012 a success

The Newfoundland and Labrador New Democratic Party held its biennial convention this weekend at the Battery Hotel in St. John’s. The two main objectives for convention were to debate resolutions and to elect members for two-year terms on the provincial executive.

Over 40 resolutions were submitted for debate. Party members unanimously endorsed policy resolutions calling for the repeal Bill 29: An Act to Amend the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act; a commitment for allowing the PUB to complete a comprehensive review of the Muskrat Falls project proposal; and a resolution committing an NDP government to ensuring that any seafood requiring processing would be processed in the province.

In the Provincial Executive elections there were 14 people elected from 28 nominations. Social Justice activist, labour leader and retired nurse, Kathleen Connors was elected President. The complete list of executive members and their positions can be found below.

“We have elected a strong executive that includes seasoned activists and innovative young people,” said Connors. “The growth in our party can be seen in the new executive and there is a lot of excitement among the team for the work that lies ahead.”

NDP leader Lorraine Michael declared the convention a huge success.

“Our membership is growing, we’re building capacity for organizing and fundraising, and our entire team is coming out of this weekend highly motivated,” said Michael. “We passed sound policy resolutions and we elected strong members to our provincial executive.”


The provincial executive includes:

President - Kathleen Connors
Associate President - Geoff Gallant
Associate President Labour* -
Provincial Secretary - Goldie Porter
Provincial Treasurer - Dave Hill
Federal Liaison Officer - Bill Kavanagh
Party Leader – Lorraine Michael

Regional Representatives:
Eastern - Ane Christensen
Central - Lukas Norman
South Coast - Mike Ryan
Western – D’Arcy Butler
Labrador - vacant

At Large Representatives
Leigh Borden
Chris Bruce
Jaime Brace

Women’s Caucus Representative - Jenn Murphy
Youth Caucus Representative - Noah Davis Power
Participation of Women Committee Representative - Marilyn Porter

* Vacant positions:
Labrador Rep, Associate Vice President Labour, 2x Labour Representatives. The 3 Labour positions will be appointed by the Federation of Labour and the Labrador Representative will be appointed by the Provincial Executive.